But the Dream Lord is a proud one

And she awoke to her own room. Standing beside her was the dream lord.

– Why did you hunt me? – he asked her – Why did you flee me?

– I hunted you because I love you more than mortal man has ever been loved by a woman. And I fled you because it is not given to mortals to love the endless. Only disaster can follow from it — disaster for you, disaster for my people.

But Kai’ckul shook his head.

– Never has one loved me enough to seek me out. Never have I seen another woman I would take for my own. I would marry you, Nada, and make you queen of my Dream world, to rule the dreams of all that dream by my side, to be with me forever, never to die as mankind knows death. And this I swear by the ruby on my chest.

And at this Nada was deathly afraid, for thou she loved him, she knew this was not meant to be, and she could not countenance his destruction, and hers. For love is not part of the dream world. Love belongs to desire, and desire is always cruel.

The Sandman (Tales in the sand)
Neil Gaiman

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    […] 17e Septiembre 17e 2007 en 11:20 am · Archivado en if (fork()!=0) She awoke to her own room. Standing beside her was the Dream lord, she looked up to him and her heart was stolen away. But […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Responder

